Buttermilk-Maple French Toast Muffins

French Toast Muffins | Something to be SavoredWhen I was little, my dad owned a bakery. So, it’s logical that should be really good at baking, right? False. I love Betty Crocker yellow cake. Yes, from the box. I also enjoy some break-and-bake cookies from time to time. Blasphemous, you think?  Well for that reason, I haven’t really learned how to be a great baker yet. My only dessert recipe on this blog so far has involved rolling peanut butter pretzel balls in my hands and sticking them in my freezer.  I also attempted a Reese’s cup pie, but it was such a disaster it wasn’t even post-worthy.  So this post may be my first official attempt and success story (for the most part) of baking from scratch.  I found this recipe for buttermilk-maple french toast muffins with cinnamon streusel and maple-buttermilk glaze, and although it seemed long, it also seemed fool-proof, so I was sold.

Ingredients

Makes 9 muffins

French Toast Muffins | Something to be Savored

Muffin
            • ⅓ cup butter, softened
            • ½ cup sugar
            • ¼ cup brown sugar
            • 1 large egg
            • 2 tbsp maple syrup
            • 1 ½ cups flour
            • 1 ½ tsp baking powder
            • ½ tsp salt
            • ½ cup buttermilk
            • 1 tsp vanilla extract
Streusel Topping
            • ¼ cup granulated sugar
            • ¼ cup flour
            • ½ tsp cinnamon
            • 2 tbsp butter, softened
Buttermilk Glaze
            • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
            • 3 tbsp buttermilk
Maple Glaze
            • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
            • 1 tbsp maple syrup
            • 2 tbsp buttermilk

Directions

Preheat your oven to 350º. Combine all the ingredients for the muffin in a medium sized bowl.

French Toast Muffins | Something to be SavoredUse a mixer to blend all the ingredients until you have a thick, dough-light mixture.

French Toast Muffins | Something to be SavoredLine a muffin tin with 9 paper liners and fill each with ¼ cup of batter.

French Toast Muffins | Something to be SavoredIn a small bowl, combine the ingredients for the streusel.  Mix with your fingers until it turns into a even, crumby mixture.

French Toast Muffins | Something to be SavoredTop each muffin with a generous portion of streusel mixture.

French Toast Muffins | Something to be SavoredBake at 350º for 25 minutes.

French Toast Muffins | Something to be SavoredWhile the muffins are baking, create the glazes. I put the ingredients right into a plastic bag and mixed with my fingers so that I could just cut the corner off and pipe the glaze right onto the muffins.  The original recipe called for much less buttermilk, but as you can see from my final pictures, my glazes were almost as thick as icing.  In the ingredients section above, I increased the amount of buttermilk. However, if your glazes are still thick, add more buttermilk until you reach the desired consistency.

French Toast Muffins | Something to be SavoredGlaze the muffins with both the buttermilk and the maple glazes, and serve warm.

French Toast Muffins | Something to be SavoredSee? My glaze looks like icing!! 😦 Add more buttermilk!!!!

French Toast Muffins | Something to be Savored

French Toast Muffins | Something to be Savored

2 thoughts on “Buttermilk-Maple French Toast Muffins

Leave a comment